Champion System
September, 28 2012   Bookmark and Share
Gang Xu Wins Fifth Chinese National Road Championship
Gang Xu of the Champion System Pro Cycling won the Chinese national road title Friday by soloing away in the final seven kilometers of the 180 km race in Changsha.

Already a four-time national road champion (2007-2010), Xu captured his fifth championship by 18 seconds over Meiyin Wang (Hengxiang Cycling Team) and 2011 15-km scratch race world track champion Ho Ting Kwok, who was third.

Xu said he was extremely satisfied to take the win in a race that saw a number of attacks and breakaways as the field made six laps of a 30 km circuit in the capital of the Hunan Province.

"I'd like to thank the Champion System company, our team's management team, and, of course, my teammates," he said. "In the past year, we've shared both happiness and difficult times. And the time racing abroad has really made me understand what is being strong-minded and the desire for victory."

Champion System General Manager Ed Beamon, who is working out of the United States to prepare the team for its final races of the season, said he was extremely proud of Xu.

"It's been a tough year for our Chinese riders, as they have traveled to three continents to compete in some of the world's biggest events against tough competition," Beamon said. "Our mission is to help develop the sport – especially the athletes from China and Asia. This is a great validation that we are on the right track.

"I also want to thank Gang's Shanghai Province team for its support," he said. "We appreciate the Chinese Cycling Association and the four local provinces that have allowed their star athletes to be a part of this historic program. We are happy these guys can bring honor to their local cycling associations through their accomplishments."

Xu's title adds to his 2012 results which include a third place on Stage 4 of the Tour of Japan in May and a fifth place on Stage 1 of the Tour of China earlier this month. His victory is Champion System's fifth of the season, adding to wins by Will Clarke (Stage 2 of the Santos Tour Down Under and the prologue of the Tour of Japan), Craig Lewis (Stage 2 of the Tour de Beauce) and Clinton Avery (BaseCamp International race presented by Verizon Wireless).